Baptist Heritage Award

Baptist Heritage Award

Since 1997 the Florida Baptist Historical Society has conferred the Baptist Heritage Award upon persons who have exhibited rare and unusual dedication to the cause of Florida Southern Baptist history and also have made a significant impact through such means as writing Baptist history, teaching Baptist history, and/or promoting the importance of Florida Southern Baptist history. The following individuals have been so honored.

1997-Earl Joiner
1998-Adolph Bedsole
1999-Joe Bamberg
2000-Ruth Bagwell
2001-John Hillhouse
2002-Martha Trotter
2003-Wiley Richards
2004-E. B. Browning, Sr.
2005-E. H. Rennolds, Sr.
2006-Harry Crawford Garwood
2007-Pope Duncan
2008-John Leonidas Rosser
2009-Doak Campbell
2010-Judith Jolly
2011-Jack Dalton
2012-James C. Bryant
2013-David Elder
2014-Mark Rathel
2015 No recipient
2016-David Lema and Roger Richards
2017-Jerry M. Windsor
2018-Sid Smith

Smith, Sid0001

2018 Baptist Heritage Award Recipient: Dr. Sid Smith

Sid Smith (b. 1943; d. 2009) was the first director of the Florida Baptist Convention’s African- American ministries division from May 1994 until his retirement Oct. 31, 2005. In that role, he served at the convention’s highest administrative and decision-making level in directing a unique cultural outreach among state Baptist conventions. Dr. Smith wrote a well-researched article titled, “A History of African American Baptists in Florida,” which was featured in the year 2000 The Journal of Florida Baptist Heritage. It was one of several articles on Florida Baptists’ ethnic and cultural congregations featured in that annual publication. A prolific author of numerous books and articles on the African-American history and experience within Southern Baptist life, Smith lectured at every Southern Baptist seminary and numerous divinity schools. [For full article see LEGACY newsletter September, 2018.]